Share passwords securelywith other NordPass users
- Make sure your credentials don’t fall into the wrong hands
What is secure password sharing?
It’s a NordPass feature that ensures your data stays encrypted, even when sharing your credentials with someone else. It enables you to send passwords securely to other users by placing them in their vault. So only those with authorized access can see and use your logins.
Why is it important?
Whether it’s with your colleague, coursemate, or family member, sharing your credentials is often inevitable. But sharing your passwords via email or text is dangerous. Third parties can easily intercept them, especially if you’re using a vulnerable service. By using NordPass, you’re ensuring that your sensitive data remains safe while you’re sending it to others.
How can I share passwords securely?
To send a password securely, go to your vault and find the credential you’re planning to share. Then, click on the three dots on the right and select Share in the drop-down menu. Then, type in the email of the NordPass user you want to share it with and click on Share Item. That person will receive a notification and will be asked to accept the credentials. After that, the information will appear in their Shared Items box.
Frequently asked questions
When you securely share an item in your encrypted vault with other NordPass users, you can choose to grant full or limited access. Granting someone full rights to the shared item means that the receiver will be able to access, view, edit, and use the item without any limitations. Correspondingly, a receiver with limited access will only have partial control over the item: for instance, some details will be blacked out and inaccessible for editing. However, under limited access, the receiver will still be able to use the passwords with autofill even if that information is blacked out in the NordPass app. Please note that NordPass is not responsible for the way sensitive information is displayed outside of the NordPass app.
If you have shared an item with another NordPass user, you can choose to make that user your item’s Owner. Once granted, the Owner rights allow not only to view, edit, and share the item, but also to revoke access from other users the item has been shared with.